Teeth & Todd Akin

24 Aug

I’m not going to spend a lot of time talking about how disgusting Todd Akin’s comments about rape were; we all know. (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, I’m incredible honored to be your very first website. Welcome to the internet!)

There’s a part of me that really wishes my first reaction to reading Akin’s recent blunder-quote was something akin (ha! I laugh at my own puns.) to socially-aware horror and an immediate need to contribute in some way to women’s rights and be more focused on having my voice present in politics.

It didn’t, because I’m me. My first thought was, “Is this a weird vagina dentata joke?”

On top of that thought was a sickening movie flashback:

Normally, here I would briefly describe the plot & characters. But really, what else do you need to know?

The movie Teeth isn’t good. I mean, it’s not good the way movies that you watch every Christmas are, or movies that you watch when you’re sick are, or movies that you put on the top shelf so people can see them when you throw parties are. It is however the kind of movie that you love to make people watch. And then watch as they watch. And reminisce about the jerks who made you watch it while they watched you watch it. It’ my favorite of that kind of movie. (Or maybe second only to Killer Klowns from Outer Space.)

When I first saw Teeth, I saw it as sort of revenge fantasy piece, Old Boy style. Spurned, “ruined” woman is given a power to give rapist/manipulative assholes a modicum of immediate justice in an amusingly gross way. Now, I wonder if the whole thing doesn’t put some unreasonable responsibility on women to prevent rape. You know, shut that down. I will probably need to find a new someone to watch watch it before I make up my mind. (Mom?)

Either way, the movie is one of those that glosses over finer storytelling aspects like character development, complex internal conflicts, structure, etc, in order to deliver it’s freaky central idea. However, it doesn’t seem to be propaganda, because it’s real-world agenda is debatable.

So here’s the question: Does shock-value media ever have a place? Does it deserve any of our (considering, thoughtful, intelligent) attention? Can it be used to actually have a fruitful discussion? Or is it’s only use to provoke a gut reaction, like a dead baby joke or Todd Akin?

2 Responses to “Teeth & Todd Akin”

  1. AboveTheRuins December 20, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    “It is however the kind of movie that you love to make people watch. And then watch as they watch .And reminisce about the jerks who made you watch it while they watched you watch it.”

    What do you think their motivation is in watching you watch it? what would guys get out of that? I have an idea personally, but I’m interested in your opinion…

    amusing article, btw 😉

    • justthrashtalk December 20, 2012 at 1:11 am #

      Mostly because the fun of shock-value is in shocking others. There are a lot of movies that are more fun to watch someone one watch than to watch again alone.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

